Today Stonewall announces the shortlists for its seventh Awards ceremony to be held on 1 November 2012 at the V&A in London.

The Awards are one of the most glamorous events in Stonewall’s fundraising calendar. They celebrate those who have made a positive impact on the lives of lesbian, gay and bisexual people in Britain in the last year.

The full shortlists:


Broadcast of the Year – supported by London Women’s Clinic

A Civil Arrangement (BBC4)

Britain’s Got Talent (ITV1)


Long Lost Family (ITV1)

One Born Every Minute (C4)

All Star Mr & Mrs (ITV1)


Entertainer of the Year

Evan Rachel Wood

Frank Ocean


Marcus Collins

Sue Perkins

Tom Wilkinson (The Best Exotic Marigold Hotel)


Journalist of the Year

Hugo Rifkind (The Times)

Owen Jones (The Independent)


Paul Burston (Time Out)

Sarah Garrett (g3 Magazine)

Lucy Mangan (The Guardian)


Politician of the Year

Iain Stewart MP

Lynne Featherstone MP & Lord Henley


Cllr Nick Forbes

Nicola Sturgeon MSP

Ruth Davidson MSP

Publication of the Year


DC Comics

London Evening Standard

Gay Star News


Sports Award of the Year – supported by Barclays

Claire Harvey

Carl Hester

Lee Pearson CBE

shop dildos for gay sex

Outdoor Lads

Rugby Football League

Writer of the Year – Supported by Coutts

Jackie Kay (Reality, Reality)

Jeanette Winterson (Why Be Happy When You Could be Normal?)

Madeline Miller (The Song of Achilles)

Patrick Gale (A Perfectly Good Man)

V G Lee (Always You, Edina)

The seventh annual Stonewall Awards ceremony takes place on Thursday 1 November at the V&A in London. Tickets are £155 plus VAT. To book your ticket visit or call 020 7593 1875.

About the author: TheNewsDesk
Tell us something about yourself.