Numerous commentators including Katie Hopkins, Milo Yiannopoulos and Anne Marie Waters have been nominated for Islamophobe of the Year, by the Islamic Human Rights Commission.

20 people, including, Katie Hopkins, Milo Yianopolous,  UKIPPERs Anne Maries Waters and Nigel Farage and LBC’s Maajid Nawaz have been nominated by the Islamic Human Rights Commission (IHRC) for the Islamophobia Awards 2017.

They join a long list of organisations and people who have been singled out by IHRC for “those who have been the most Islamophobic over the past year”. The organisation said it was awarding them for their “accomplishments”.

Milo, has become a nominee in the IHRC’s awards.

In the UK category, the nominees of the awards, which has been described by the IHRC as a “satirical awards ceremony” are:  Katie Hopkins, Nigel Farage, Tommy Robinson, Anne Marie Waters, Boris Johnson, Trevor Phillips, OFSTED,  Zac Goldsmith, Maajid Nawaz and Louise Casey.

Further afield,  President Donald Trump has been nominated along with former French President hopeful Marie Le Pen.

News organisations were also targetted for awards, including, the Daily Mail, The Sun, Fox News and Breitbart. For film, books and TV series, the IHRC highlighted 24: Legacy, London Has Fallen and Homeland as potential winners.

The award is publicly voted and people are being invited to vote on the IHRC website.

Katie Hopkins is hoping she wins the UK category and has invited her fanbase to vote for her.

Katie Hopkins pleaded with her fanbase to vote for her, saying that she had the “perfect outfit” for the awards.

Please vote for me as Islamophobe of the Year. I have the perfect ‘outfit’ in mind.

— Katie Hopkins (@KTHopkins) October 18, 2017

A statement from IHRC said, “The event aims to subvert Islamophobia through comedy and revue while simultaneously addressing a serious issue in a creative manner,

“The event, which includes a gala dinner, features a satirical awards ceremony in which those who have been the most Islamophobic over the past year are awarded for their “accomplishments”.

Winners will be announced during the spoof awards ceremony which will be taking place on Sunday, 26 November 2017.

A note from the editor.

These are tough times for us all. Without a doubt. But we're here for you and want to continue being here for you for the foreseeable future. needs your help to survive. Due to the nature of the articles that we publish, we find it very hard to monetize our site and have been heavily restricted by ad platforms. This leaves us two ways of making money to keep this site going. 1) We run an online shop which we encourage you to visit and if you can make a purchase and 2) We run popup shops at the prides we media partner with. As you'll no doubt be aware the majority of pride events have been cancelled or postponed for 2020, which leaves our site at risk of closure.

Around 70 per cent of our funding comes from these popup shops. So we have a severe funding shortfall for 2020.

If just 100 people who use this site each donated £2 per month we'd be able to pay for the hosting for the rest of the year - meaning we can continue to keep THEGAYUK online. Please, if you can, consider donating £2 or whatever you can to keep us going.

Thank you.